5 07 2010

Well,

We finally have a beautiful sunny day at Battle Harbour. A little chilly, granted, but as long as the sun is shining, we don’t complain!

It has been a busy week on the island – lots of visitors, even though the weather has been pretty miserable. We had a family – the Wixteds, from Massachusetts – who spent a couple of days here, and we had lots of fun with them. They had three kids – Rebecca, Bridget and Peter. I was Peter’s designated babysitter for an afternoon, and we became good buddies. He’s four (“five in thirteen days!”) and he’s such a cute, precocious little kid. He reminded me of Luke (my favourite five-year-old back home) and made me miss him even more than I already do… Ah well.

We also had an amateur photographer, Steven Willar, here for a few days. He brought along his two cocker spaniels, so we enjoyed that, too. Brad got some camera pointers, and I got lots of puppy-time. Worked out well for the both of us, I must say!

There were a couple of guys – Andre and Francois – can you get any more French?? – from Quebec who bought motorcycles to come over here for a trip. They have their own bikes back home, but they heard that the dirt road was bad, so they didn’t want to ruin them. The solution? Buy two more bikes! Dear me. Must be nice! One of them was an oral surgeon… so I guess buying a motorcycle didn’t exactly break the bank. It just boggles my poor poverty-stricken mind…

There’s never a dull day here on the island. We haven’t been bored yet. That comes as a bit of a surprise to me, but it’s a good thing.

The Green Team arrived last night, so Brad has got his hands even more full now, until the end of the summer.

The Green Team is a group of students who are hired to carry out environmentally friendly projects in different communities. Battle Harbour was approved for a Green Team, and now they’ve essentially become another one of Brad’s responsibilities.

Anyway, the kiddies made a great first impression. Not. They were late for work this morning – not such a good thing to do on your first day. Brad gave them an earful (I was very impressed) so hopefully it won’t happen again.

We really are having a great time. Brad has a birthday on July 15th, and we’ll be here for that – so I’m going to have to try and make it a good day. I’m sad that there can’t be more family here with us then, but what can you do? I am beginning to miss people more and more – especially since we met up with Brad’s and Jale last week. But – another month and a bit, and we’ll be home! I don’t mean to wish away my time, but you know what I mean.

That’s all from us for now. Hope you’re all doing well. We miss you and love you.

Erika and Brad

Together Again!

Actions

Information

One response

5 07 2010
Dale

Hi guys
We miss you too, but it sounds like you are having a wonderful time, just imagine all the memories you will bring back with you! Jale will be so jealous of the new dogs in your life! Brads birthday I’m sure will be special as long a you are there Erika, and we will have a celebration not only of his birthday but of your one year anniversary when you guys get home. Glad we had the time together last week and look forward to August.
Love you both

Leave a Reply

