P90X – Here We Come!

31 08 2010

We’re baaaack!

Its been a long summer, and we haven’t had much stop time – but we’d definitely do it all over again.

We spent a few days in Trinity/Eastport with Nicola, Stephen, Mom and Dad and had a lot of fun. I also managed to get a killer sunburn (which is now peeling like nothing I’ve ever seen) which turned me lobster colour, but which will not make me brown after the fact. Unfortunately. White – Red – White. Like the inverse of the Canadian flag. Does that make me particularly patriotic?

We spent our wedding anniversary at Winterholme. Check it out – it’s beautiful: http://www.winterholme.com/. We were in the Emerald Suite, compliments of Momma and Mista Coombs. I have great in-laws! Haha.

We’ve got a week before it’s back to school. It’s a little scary – especially after a three year hiatus – but I’m hoping to get through it alright. Brad is in school this semester, too, so hopefully that will be further motivation for me to study.

In other news: remember how we gained copious amounts of weight in Battle Harbour? Yes, well, it’s a bit ridiculous. So, in hopes of fixing that situation, and also in hopes of being healthier in general, we’ve started P90X. It’s a 90 day program… and it’s insane. That is not an exaggeration. Google it.

I’m not one for ready-made diets and things like that – we’re still eating lots, just healthier. And I’d be super skeptical about this program, except for the fact that ‘regular’ people like us have posted progress videos on YouTube. Look it up; I dare you.

Anyway. We’ve completed Day 2. It’s not easy, by any stretch. Even when I was a gym bum in University, I had a hard time working up a sweat. But in the past two days, I have overcome that particular area of my workout. I’ve been breaking crazy sweats. It’s awesome.

We’ll see if I can actually stick it out. I’m trying to be optimistic. But seriously. It’s painful. Haha.

On another, more exciting note; Brad barbecued for lunch today. It was the first time we’d used it (a welcome-home gift from the Coombs’) and he did a great job. I made a marinade for the chicken and let it sit for a while – it was deadly. Lemon/parsley/paprika – it tastes great. Brad put BBQ sauce on top of all that when he was BBQing, and so the chicken was zesty and spicy simultaneously. We will definitely make it again. If you want to make the marinade yourself, check it out: http://southernfood.about.com/od/bbqsaucemarinade/r/bl30408g.htm

Okay, folks – that’s all for now. Hope all is well wherever you all are.

Love,

Erika and Brad

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

